WEEK 3 Scotland

21 Apr

Hiya friends and family!!

Hiya is scotish for hi/hello haha. They say it all the time!

Well I finally made it to Scotland!!!!! This place is so beautiful! And wet… and cold… and wet… and windy… and wet. haha it rains everyday! But let me back up a bit. As soon as I got off the phone with you in SLC an announcement came that our flight was delayed an hour due to bad weather in Chicago! We ended up waiting two hours! The plane to Chicago was TINY! I sat next to Elder Facer who was large in stature… but at least I had room haha. I only got a 30 minute nap on that 3 hour flight. So since we were delayed two hours and our layover was two hours, we were afraid we were going to miss our next plane to London! As soon as we landed our big group of missionaries ran off the plane and were greeted by an airport worker that took us to a bus that drove us all the way to our next gate to get on the plane. Because we were such a big group they waited for us. How nice. That plane was HUGE! First class was a joke. They had full on beds! This plane was like the movies! 9 seats across and tv’s for everyone. Us missionaries were a little bored… I sat by two old men who I think had some sort of mental disabilities and they couldnt speak a word of english except “sister” (referring to me) and “thank you very much” haha. I watched a little bit of Les Mes from the person in front of me… but don’t tell anyone that! On our screens we could watched where the plane was. So for seven hours I watched a little plane fly ever so slowly to London. It took forever. I didn’t get much sleep either! Once we got to London the pilot said we had to fly around for a bit because the airport wasn’t ready for us. So that made us late for the next plane!! In London we had to go through customs and the workers took forever letting us through because they didn’t understand what a missionary was haha. After we got through customs and security, we found our gate and walked right on the next plane that took us to Edinburgh!!! We found President and Sister Brown as well as the AP’s. It was so nice having someone there that was expecting us! hahaha. They were so excited to see us! When we went to baggage claim we were told our bags didn’t make it… that was a bummer. Because of us running to each plane they didn’t have time to transfer all of our bags. So we had to fill out a report about what our bags looked like and what not and they would deliver them to the mission home once they arrived in Edinburgh. So off we went in the taxis that took us to the mission home! Drivers here are CRAZY! They just zip and zing everywhere! Being on the other side of the road is so stressfull! That first ride was a bit of a shock haha I’m a wee bit used to it now.

When we arrived to the mission home we had a quick lunch. We ate jacket potatoes (which are baked potatoes with toppings like cheese, sour cream, chili, and TUNA! OMG you gotta try it!) After we ate we went to the CASTLE!!!!!! We walked there, which was about 2 miles I think. There was so much to look at! The castle was so beautiful! We had 4 hours to rome around! (Waaay to long) After about two hours our little group of sisters were over it haha. We were all SO TIRED!!! At that point we’d been awake for 36 hours or so. After the castle we rode a bus back to the mission home and ate dinner! I can’t remember what we had but I remember mashed potatoes haha. After dinner President did interviews so all of us missionaries sat in the living room and fell asleep where ever we were sitting haha. We were totally exhausted. When we finally got to go to bed Sister Lund and I went to the Rasmussens flat. Elder and Sister Rasmussen are a senior couple that work in the mission home. Those beds were like magic! I slept soooo good!

 

 

Thursday morning we wore our pday clothes and met up with all the trainers at the mission home. Then we drove to Aurthors Seat! (Or Pratts hill) The story is that Orsen Pratt climbed this hill as a missionary and prayed to tell God he was going to baptize 200 souls. And he did! So President likes to take all the new missionaries up there to pray and make some type of goal with God. That’s great and all but this hill was SO STEEP!!! Of course I ws the last one up there because I’m so out of shape haha. But you can see all of Edinburgh from up there! Pictures don’t do it justice! It’s sooo beautiful! Then we sang the song High On the Mountain Top which was awesome. Afterwords we went back to the mission home and had lasagna! YUM! (PS I got the two packages two hours before I left! Perfect! So I stuffed everything in my bags) Then once we were dressed in our missionary clothes we had some training then got our trainers! I got Sister Robertson!!!

Oh Sister Robertson. I love her! Her family lives in Texas, she’s 21, she went to the Preston MTC and she is awesome. She’s only been out 4 months! We are in East Kilbride. It’s about an hour and a half from Edinburgh. We took two trains to get here. It’s a lovely little town. It rains everyday but it’s nice. Our flat is… nice. haha. It’s small but perfect. All the flats here in Scotland (and I think Ireland) open up to doors. So when you walk in the front door there are more doors. One to the bathroom, kitchen, and living space. Make sense? We always keep our doors open. Our room is small but it totally works! S Robertson and I share a closet and I actually am able to fit everything! Surprising huh? I keep it organized well enough 🙂

Friday morning we had to do weekly planning which took alllll morning! We went through all the investigators, less actives, and recent converts. I had NO idea what S Robertson was saying but I went along with it haha. She tried to explain who everyone was but I really had no connection so it was hard to follow. Then I had to get a bus pass! Bus riding is very normal here. Not everybody has a car so they either walk or ride the bus or both. We ride the bus some places but other than that we walk EVERYWHERE!!! My body HURTS! And S Robertson always walks super fast. She’s always a good 10-15 feet ahead of me. But I’m getting faster! haha I’m just so dang short! (Thanks dad) I just walk through my pain! When we see people on the street we try to stop them but when they dont stop we just start walking with them! When S.R did that the first time I thought it was so weird haha. So far no one has been interested. Sad. I’ve only talked to one person… but not for long because she didn’t want to talk to us. Friday night we went to the McNally’s for dinner! They are members in our ward who have been feeding the missionaries every Friday night for 20 years! Awesome family! We had steak pie, mashed potatoes and brocolli. SO GOOD!!!! That night we taught Brother Smith. He has been an ivestigator for two years!!! He got baptized a while ago but then “messed up” before he got confirmed so the baptism wasn’t valid! Interesting huh? He is progressing well! He has a really bad stutter plus a strong accent. But I’ve actually done a really good job at understanding people! Scotish just makes sense to me! (Thank the Lord!)

Saturday we visited some less actives. Sister Graves is an old lady who wants to die just so she can be with her husband again. She is so cute! She forgets things quick so she repeated herself alot. She told me the story of how she met her husband. SO CUTE! “He was the love of my life! I fancied other men but never the way I fancied him!” hahaha. She reminded me alot of grandma 🙂 I forgot my list of things to write in my email so I can’t really remember what else we did that day haha

Sunday was eventful! We walked to church in the POURING rain! We were soaked! My red raincoat is such a lifesaver! It works so well! Only the bottom of my skirt was wet so that wasn’t too bad. Everyone in the ward is so sweet and welcoming! But there aren’t many people. Only 40 came to sacrament meeting… My heart BROKE! I can’t believe Vegas, of all places, has more people in one ward’s sunday school class than an entire area of members! Bishop asked me to say the opening prayer! It was fast Sunday so just about everyone was able to get up. There wasn’t much time for me. After Sacrament S.R and I went to primary to share a message with the weeuns. A total of 6 children! Three of them are the bishops kids. (There’s two in nursery, 2 young women and 1 yong man.) After we shared our message of “obeying your parents” we went into the youth sunday school (only the two YW) and taught them about the apostasy and JS. They’re sweet girls! They’re going to EFY in a few months and are stoked! After that we went to RS. That was a nice break haha. The lesson was on trials and how to overcome them. We watched a mormon message that made S.R and I ball like babies! “Mountains to Climb” LOOK IT UP!!! Everyone needs to watch it!!! In my prayer in sacrament mtg I thanked God for the beautiful weather even though it was raining hard. A brother in the ward that got up to bear his testimony and laughed at me a wee bit for saying that haha He was gratefull that someone here is thankful for things like that. So because of that…. the SUN came out after church!!!! (AHHHH) It was so wonderful and cozy and amazing! The sun comes out every once in a while which I LOVE! That night we taught two lessons. One to Brother Graham who is a recent convert. We invited him to bare his testimony to a friend this week! We taught him at Sister Blacks house. Then we taught Brother Smith again at Sister Greens house about the Gospel of Jesus Christ. (Sister Black and Green are ward missionaries. Sister Green is like our grandma. She is so sweet and loving and cares so much for the sister missionaries. I like her house the best because it’s CLEAN and ORGANIZED! Sister Balck not so much. But I love Sister Black. Nicest lady ever)

I know there are more details that should be in all of that but I just cant rememeber them haha. Teaching has been a treat! The first go around I was a bit shy and didn’t say much but the second time I was able to open up and teach by the spirit with S.R. The other night I finally got overwhelmed and a bit home sick. I prayed so hard to get past it! I hate being sad as a missionary. It’s no fun. So I cry for just a minute (literally) and move on. I know I’m suppossed to be here! The Lord knows me better than anyone and I know I’m here for a reason! So far I’ve loved it! Siter Robertson is an awesome obedient missionary and has already taught me so much! I’m getting the hang of things slowly but surely. Even the Scotish lingo haha. (I’ll put some at the end)

Well it sounds like everyone is getting excited for baby Jones! I can’t wait to see picutres of him!! All the babies here are straight up adorable. I’m happy everyone is safe and happy! I love you all and miss you so much!! But I’m where I’m suppossed to be and I’m learning so much! I LOVE YOU!!!!

Love Sister Jones

Scotish words to English

Wee=little

Weeun=small child

hiya=hi

flat=apartment

dodgy=sketchy

gardens=yards

hoovers=vacuumns

trouser=jeans

pants=underwear

chips=fries

crisps=chips

clipe=tatletale

skinnard=fed up (I’m skinnard!)

note=dollar bill

I can’t remeber any more haha my whole list is at home! I’ll bring it next time and send a whole list 🙂

 

One Response to “WEEK 3 Scotland”

  1. Heidi Lee April 22, 2013 at 3:40 am #

    So happy to hear your news. I think of you often and know that you will be an wonderful missionary. We are praying for you!

Leave a Reply

