Week 8 Scotland

8 Jun

Hiya Family and Friends,

Well this week was a loooooong week! But that’s because of moves. Our pday was on Wednesday so we were just all mixed up! It was a good week though.

Monday night we had our usual FHE at Sister Green’s home. Sister Rob and I decided to switch things up and have a hymn night! We were so excited! We invited everyone we could and committed them to come! It was a great turn out! Brother McCafferty has a new girlfriend named Darcy who isn’t a member. We talked him into bringing her and it was so great! She is a lovely woman and it was so nice to finally meet her.  We went around the room and each person told us what their favorite hymn was and why. Then we sang it! Sister Green played on her keyboard and it was a lot of fun. Even Darcy picked one! I ended the evening with one of my favorite hymns “Families Can Be Together Forever” then bore testimony about the plan of salvation. The spirit was so strong and I knew Darcy needed to hear about the Lords plan for us. She enjoyed the night and we invited her to keep coming!

Tuesday didn’t start out to great. There is a recent convert in our ward who we usually visit on occasion. However the past few weeks she has been ignoring our calls and texts. So we thought we’d pop by her house and say hello. She didn’t like that very much. She told us to stop calling her so much and to stop having ward members ask how she’s doing. She got really annoyed and quite honestly ticked off. We apologized the best we could but she just didn’t understand where we were coming from and how much we really care for her! The whole experience made Sister Rob and I’s stomache drop. We’ve made it a goal to try not to annoy people with our calls and texts. We don’t want to drive anyone else away! The rest of Tuesday was good! We taught a lesson about the importance of scripture reading! I love the scriptures! We can learn so much from them!

Wednesday was our pday and since we emailed the previous Monday, we had time to go to Glasgow! We went to the stake center and played dodge ball and chair football with the elders. It was a lot of fun! My zone leader, Elder Topp, is trying to get me to get over my fear of dodge ball. I don’t like to play but he made me on Wednesday and I can honestly say it wasn’t that bad! Baby steps…

We rode the bus to and from Glasgow because we didn’t have money for the train. It’s about an hour ride but on the way back there was really bad traffic so it was an hour and a half. When Sister Rob and I got on the bus we realized it was PACKED! There were no two seats next to eachother available. So we had to sit separate. (We sat on the second level… have I mentioned that 90% of the busses are double decor?) So I sat next to an old man and as soon as I sat down he looked at my tag and said “what is it that your labeled as?” (Me thinking “awesome! I’m about to teach the first lesson!”) So I said “Oh I’m Sister Jones! I’m a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints” then he said “well I’m a practicing atheist so I don’t think we’ll have much in common” hahahaha! So I just smiled and said “ya probably not” then sat back. Then all of sudden he said “where’s your proof?!!” So naturally I pulled out my Book of Mormon and said “right here!” (biggest smile on my face I could manage hoping he wouldn’t spit on me) He said it was a bunch of rubbish haha. Loooong story short…. we had a full hour and a half conversation about the gospel. He asked me all sorts of questions and tried to tell me I was wrong. I was able to back everything up with doctrine and bare testimony of what I know to be true. I decided from the beginning that I wasn’t going to argue with him. So I didn’t. I spoke with him as if he were my grandpa and we had a really great conversation! We shared our opinions and talked about God. The spirit filled my mouth with everything that I needed to say. I tried to give him a Book of Mormon but he wouldn’t take it. Then I felt prompted to talk about his family. He has a wife and son that he loves very much but doesn’t believe he’ll see them after he dies. So I whipped out my POS pamphlet and read it with him. I was able to talk him into taking it. He laughed and said “you’re very persuasive” hahaha I found out his name is Andrew. Then I asked if I could say a prayer with him. He agreed and so right there on the bus I prayed. He thanked me for everything it and said he appreciates what I’m doing. We said our goodbyes and Sister Rob sat next to me. She heard the whole thing and said EVERYONE on the bus was staring and listening to every word I said. SOMEONE on that bus needed to hear about the gospel! It was such a neat experience!!!! (Side note…. Andrew was WASTED! hahaha his breath was SOAKED in alcohol… but that doesn’t change his beliefs haha)

On Friday we did some service for Sister Lewis. We moed her lawn! Lawn moers here are electic! YES! You plug them in! haha they are like vacuums! You use them like a vacuum. Back and forth back and forth hahaha I’ll send pictures.

That night we went to cambuslang and had dinner with Sister Andrew and her friend Grace. We had SO MUCH FUN! They are two funny ladies and they’ve been to the US a bunch. So we talked about the US and it made us miss home haha but it was fun.

Sunday was stake conference! It actually felt like a ward from home. ALOT more people! It was so nice! It was a broadcast and it was delightful! Richard G Scott talked about how awesome woman are. I would suggest every living human male should read it hahaha.

I looked up on LDS.org that the St George temple does Sign Language sessions! I really want you all to go to it! It was an amanzing exerience for me!

Just so you know… next Monday is another UK holiday so I will be emailing on Tuesday.

I love you all so much and miss you! I hope everyone has a good week!! I love all the emails I get and I’m sorry I don’t have time to write more… I wish I could. I’m safe and dry and mostly happy hahaha ok I’m happy 🙂 LOVE YOU!!!!

Love Sister Jones

PS I am SO excited for my nephew to come to the world!!!!! My guess is May 25th or June 2nd. Good luck Heather! 🙂

Leave a Reply

