WEEK 9 Scotland

8 Jun

Family and Friends,

Well this week was…. challenging. Very challenging. It honestly just wasn’t very good. But a new week has begun and there’s light at the end of the tunnel!

Last Tuesday after District Meeting, in Glasgow, I was Kabaptized!! That’s just a phrase missionaries use. Scotland is famous for their kababs. It’s just lamb meat with lettuce in a pitta type bread pocket thing haha. Greek restaurants make them but they’re way better here! It was so yummy! Sister Rob and I went with 6 others Elders and one of them was being kabaptized as well. So it was a memorable moment!

On Thursday we went to lunch with Alison! She is so so wonderful and we love meeting with her! Alison is currently having wonderful blessings being poured out to her! She KNOWS it’s because she has been reading the Book of Mormon and living life in a righteous way. We are so happy for her and her successes!

Friday morning I woke up with terrible stomach pain! I felt sooo sick! (Geez… I’ve been sick three times in 9 weeks) I stayed in bed for most of the morning and early afternoon. Then I finally felt well enough to go out. So we were able to accomplish what we planned for.

I still didn’t feel very good on Saturday so I call Sister Brown to ask her what to do. She advised me to go to the pharmacist and find out what medicine I could take. The pharmacist helped and I’m feeling much better now! I think I’ve just made myself physically sick from all my struggles of being a missionary!

Sunday we were able to teach Ian the restoration. It went really well! The spirit was strong and he asked alot of great questions. Sister Rob is really good at throwing out doctrine so that helped haha.

We have had absolutely the most beautiful weather this past week!! I never thought it was possible! Summer is here! Kind of! haha however yesterday, Monday, it rained ALL DAY!! I swear it never stopped! So Sister Rob and I stayed in our flat for our pday activities because we didn’t want to be in the rain haha.

Next week there is an all Scotland conference!! I am so excited!! It’s when all the missionaries in Scotland go to Edinburgh for some training. This time will be Family History! I can’t wait!

Our bathroom in our flat is getting redone! WHOO! So we have to stay at Sister Green’s home for a few days. It’s almost like a mini vacation haha. I’ll send the before and after pictures πŸ™‚

Well I’m sorry this is so short!! Not alot happened this week! We have been challenged to find two potential investigators each day this week! I’ll let you know how that goes!

I love and miss you all so much!!

Love Sister Jones

Fun facts:

Eggs are not refrigerated here… So who’s got it wrong??

Pancakes are made then packaged and not eaten for breakfast. They’re like desserts here.

“Mingin”= dirty/smelly/gross (Ex: “That house was mingin!!”)

Currently:

Total missionaries in the Scot/Ire mission: 171

Total in Scotland: 107 (75 Elders & 32 Sisters)

Total in Ireland: 64 (54 Elders & 10 Sisters)

Leave a Reply

