Week 25 Ireland

22 Sep
Dear Family and Friends!

This week has been pretty slow. But it was a good week. Sister Brand and I had some challenges but through communication and relying completely on the Lord we were able to get through it. Whenever I have a rough week I get a tad bit homesick. But one day I was reading in Doctrine and Covenants and it was honestly an answer to prayer! I always ask Heavenly Father to help me just FEEL BETTER! I came across D&C 31 “Behold verily I say unto you, go from them only for a little time, and declare my word, and I will prepare a place for them…. Be faithful unto the end, and lo, I am with you. These words are not of man nor of men, but of me, even Jesus Christ, your redeemer, by the will of the Father. Amen.” (D&C 31:6,13) I just loved that so much!! It brought me sooo much comfort! I’ll only be away for a LITTLE TIME and the Lord will BLESS my family!! AHH!!! Love it! Isn’t so awesome how the scriptures can just speak to us?!

Monday we had a pretty good p-day (sorry again about my rubbish email!) We traveled out to Dundrum and met up with some other missionaries. We went to lunch at a place called Nandos! It was all about chicken and it was so yummy!! But because of travel, lunch, and then travel again, we weren’t able to have a very productive p-day… we didn’t even clean our flat! :/ haha but it was still fun!
Tuesday we had district meeting! But then we had to say goodbye to some missionaries! Gosh I HATE goodbyes! Our AP Elder Akebrand has been one of my favorite and luckily he was at our district meeting so I was able to say goodbye to him! (I didn’t even know his time was up! Some Elders are so humble!) That afternoon we had dinner with a recent convert! We went to a place called Boojums. It is EXACTLY like Chipotle! SO GOOD!! I felt right at home! (Sister Brand and I have already had it again since then hahaha)
Wednesday we taught a lady named Aldona! We met her in the city WEEKS ago! She was passing out pamphlets for her church. Born again Christian or something like that. It went really well! She had LOADS of questions and we answered them to the best of our ability! But we had to write some downed and promised to get back to her haha. She told us to give her two weeks to read the BOM! I hope she does and then invites us back!!
Thursday we had lunch with a member named Claire. She is an older woman and she is so much fun! We had a great meal together and then we were able to share a message. We chose Abish! Goodness I LOVE that story! Abish was the lamanitish woman who spread the gospel from house to house! What a remarkable woman! I have learned so much from her… and it’s only a couple of verses! haha (Alma 19:16-17)
Friday we had a neat experience with a recent convert. Her name is Corinna and she is 19. She is so awesome! We talked about prayer and she expressed to us that she was stuggling with it a bit. So we decided to have a little workshop. She was a bit giggly during her prayer so we decided to show her how to focus and invite the spirit. The three of us knelt down and we gave her some ideas on how to let the spirit in her heart. She said a lovely prayer and the spirit was SO STRONG! AH! It was so cool! Afterwords she flipped! She thought it was so neat that she was able to feel that way so quickly! It’s hard to describe but it was really cool 🙂
Saturday Sister Brand got pretty sick so we were in the flat for half of the day. Then when she got around to feeling better we headed out to Balbriggan. It was so beautiful outside! We didn’t have much success there but we were able to try by a few formers and because of that we found a new potential! He is very interested in learning about Jesus Christ… however I kinda think he’s a Baptist minister…. hahaha we’ll find out!!
Sunday was an excellent Sabbath!! To begin with, we had a non-member visitor from KOREA in our ward! I got waaay too excited I think haha. His name is Yo-Young (but of course that’s most likely NOT how you spell it hahaha) I went straight up to him (mostly because I a missionary and whenever we don’t recognize someone at church we ATTACK!) and asked him all sorts of questions. He can BARELY speak English so it was challenging. When I found out he was Korean and said “on-yong-ha-say-o!” (again…. not how it’s spelled) He got so excited! But then I told him that that was all I knew haha. So I took him into the chapel and sat next to him. Then I ran to the storage room and grabbed a Korean BOM! He got excited about that too! Sister Brand gave a talk so she was sitting up on the stand which meant I got to sit with the Korean! 🙂 So during the Sacrament I felt that I needed to SHOW Yo-Young what was really being said. (because he doesn’t understand English) So during the prayers I helped him open up to Moroni 4 and 5. It took a while because our books were so different but he found it and read the verses with the prayers and then he had an “ah-ha” moment and looked at me and just smiled!!! Oh my heart was so warm!!! It felt so good to help him understand the beautiful words of the Sacrament prayer! I just love Koreans! Plus it made me miss dad soooo much!! hahaha We then found out that he lives in the Elders area so we don’t get to teach him 😦 But hopefully he’ll be at church next week!!
Sister Brand did an excellent job on her talk! She spoke about Holy Places that we can create ANYWHERE! It was beautiful.
Sister Brand and I are learning a song in Gaelic!!! It is so fun! We’ll perfect it and record it for all of you! Gaelic is so pretty!
I think I have neglected to tell you all a little bit about Sister Brand! She is 21 (almost 22 in November!) She is from Fairbanks Alaska! She is a convert! She was Luthren before and has been a member for almost 4 years. Is is the youngest of 5 and she goes to BYU-I for OT!
She is so great!! I love her dearly! I’ll sure miss her…..
Yep… we got our moves call last night…..
Sister Brand is moving to Scotland!!! She will be in the Edinburgh Zone. I am staying here in Dublin and my new companion will be Sister Huntsman!! She came out in Sister Brands group so she’s been out almost 5 months.
I’m a bit nervous to lead this area because it is HUGE!! And I don’t feel like I know it all too well yet… but I’m still learning and Sister Huntsman will just have to learn with me! haha I don’t know much about her yet but I have heard many wonderful things about her! She’s from UTAH! 🙂
Sister Robertson will still be in my district so I’ll continue to see her once a week.
Dublin Facts:
There are tons of street performers in the city! My favorite one is a guy who dresses up like Mario and plays Mario Cart songs on his keyboard! hahaha it’s hilarious!
Also, there is a group of about 8 or 10 homeless people that basically live in the city and they write out quotes with chalk on the walk way every single day! (they are so dedicated)
I love you all so much! And I appreciate all your prayers! I can feel the love. Literally!! Thank you for all you do! Love the Lord and never forget to PRAY!!!!
Love Sister Jones
HAPPY BIRTHDAY to all you September people!! Don’t party too hard without me!!!
The people from Venezuela! They come to our English class and they are so awesome!! The elders are the elders that serve in our ward. E Andrews and E Roper. E Roper is moving to the Glasgow zone and E Andrews will stay here and train again!
DUBLIN PICS

 

Leave a Reply

