Week 50 Scotland

6 Aug

Dear Family and Friends,

We had a really good week! The weather is starting to get a tiny bit warmer which is nice. But it’s still a bit bi-polar and goes from warm to absolutely freezing every other day hahaha. But it’s MARCH! My favorite month! I have a feeling some really great things are going to happen!
Sister Francis and I don’t really have progressing investigators at the moment… really not many investigators at all. But we have made a goal to have a baptism this transfer. We are doing everything we can to focus on that goal. We have been praying really hard for the Lord to place someone in our path that is prepared for the gospel or to have one of our contacts commit to learning about what we have to share. I know He will provide!!
I have been invited to be a part of the Missionary Choir!!!! A large group of missionaries did a tour around Scotland this past Christmas performing Christmas music for the members and general public. (I was in Ireland at the time and didn’t even know it happened until way after haha) So now they are doing one for Easter!!! I get to travel to Edinburgh for practices and then we will have performances in Edinburgh and Galsgow. I’ll be assigned a temporary companion and I’ll stay with her until it’s all over! The performances are April 10th, 11th, and 12th. Practices start on my Birthday! March 31st. So hopefully baby Andersen will be born early 🙂 I am so excited! I feel like dad!!! I’m performing songs about our Savior to spread the gospel! That is so cool! Sister Robertson and Sister Ricks are both a part of it so I’m really excited for that too. During the time that we’re not practicing/performing we will be doing blits in the areas that are close by… basically going out finding and giving the missionaries that are over that area lots of referrals haha. It will be so much fun!

I am going on exchanges with Sister Ricks this week! She will be coming back to Kilmarnock with me after District meeting. It’ll be like old times! hahah Sis Francis will stay in Irvine with Sis Jones.
We have a new Elder in the ward! Elder Goldie got a new companion named Elder Wu (pronounced “woo”) He is from Idaho and has been out for about 10 months. He’s great!

Yesterday’s church service was FANTASTIC!! There were SO MANY people there! The Elders investigator, Ruth, was confirmed! I don’t know if I ever mentioned her baptism but it was so wonderful! Because she needed some extra assistance, BOTH elders were able to baptize her! Well Elder Goldie did it but Elder Black help immerse her haha. Ruth had two nonmember friends at her baptism and they even came for her confirmation. They stayed for ALL of church! Such great supporters! The Elders also had another man there that they are working with. We had Sister Bennie there! She hasn’t been to church in a long while and we’ve been working with her for a few weeks and she has really made great progress! (She’s the one we’ve been reading the BOM with) We had a great lesson with her on Saturday about the Sabbath Day and committed her to come back to church. We offered to fast with her so that she could receive the strength she needed to make it. And she did!!!! YAY! Annette and her two girls came as well! Tianna and Remy LOVED primary and Annette felt really happy seeing some old friends. We had a lesson (and dinner…yum) with them on Friday night. We taught the girls about prayer and we sang the Primary song “When I Pray in Faith.”
Afterwords, Annette said she could feel the spirit and it felt really good. Gosh I LOVE the Dailly girls! They are so cute and so much fun. We go there every Monday for FHE and dinner 🙂
So church was not only good because of everyone that was there but also the classes and Sacrament meeting were amazing! RS was packed full with wonderful sisters and the lesson was on Faith and Repentance. Then in gospel principles, Brother King taught the Restoration. He is so great! Then Sacrament was fast and testimony meeting (because Stake Conference was last week) ALL of the testimonies that were born were so great! The Kilmarnock ward members have really strong testimonies of the Restoration of the Gospel! The spirit was very strong. I loved it!! I wish every Sunday would have that many people attending…. I think it’ll become a usual 🙂
I hope you all have a good week! You’re in my prayers! Thank you for all your support and love!
Love Sister Jones
P.S. I think Kyle and Heather should email me more often!! 🙂
Leave a Reply

