Week 61 Scotland

6 Aug
Dear Family and Friends,
This week was really great! On Wednesday we had to travel to Edinburgh to pack up Sister Larsen’s things! It was a beautiful day and we hung out in the mission home for a bit which was a real treat! We even got a glimpse of the greenies! It was nice to see some missionary friends as well. Sis Larsen is all settled now and we are having a great time!
Elder Donaldson joined our Killie family! He goes home in 6 weeks! So he won’t be here for very long.
Last Monday there was a HUGE thunder storm! We were over at Dave and Ruth’s for dinner when it started. There was a TON of lightening so Dave and Ruth didn’t let us go out. We didn’t want to be in it either haha. It was so fun to watch and listen to! Thunder and lightning NEVER happens here! Like never! So it is a TREAT when it does happen. I’ve only heard thunder a couple of times on my mission. But this was a BIG storm. It went on for liek 4 hours! Boom crash pour! Boom crash pour! They drove us home when it was time to go in and we drove through rivers and puddles! It was really fun. We LOVED the thunder! When we got home we started planning and we sat in our big living room with all of the windows open and there was a huge BANG! Thunder so deep that it kinda shook the earth! It even set off some alarms. Good fun 🙂
Evelyn is doing wonderful! We watched “Special Witnesses of Christ.” She really enjoys watching the videos. She LOVES the apostles! She always says “oh I just want to cuddle them!” (for those of you who don’t know…. “cuddle” means hug. I’m afraid I’ll say it alot when I get home and people will get the wrong idea! haha) She started to read the New Testament and is cross referencing it with the Book of Mormon and visa versa. She is learning so much! She wants to be baptized in the next 6 weeks! We don’t have a date yet but hopefully soon.
We met up with the elders and set some goals for this transfer. We came up with some good plans for the ward and what we can do to help them with missionary work!
This work is so great! I love everything about being a missionary. The church is so true!
Ok I have a funny story… it’s a little embarrassing but it’s worth it! Just maybe don’t this to the ward leaders! haha. Yesterday after church Sis Larsen and I were talking to a Brother in the ward and he was telling us about some scientific thing about the Joseph Smith and the universe and the Book of Mormon and stuff like that. While he was talking I accidentally let out a toot! And it was LOUD! Like a POP! hahahahaha the brother didn’t even notice! So he just went on as normal like nothing happened. I was mortified! Then in the corner of my eye I saw Sister Larsen smile… obviously she heard. Then I just LOST it! I could NOT hold back the laughter! The brother still didn’t even notice! I was trying so hard to control myself and act like I was interested in what he was saying hahaha. Sister Larsen was turning red and she did really good holding in her laughter but I just couldn’t handle it! I then started to pretend like I was coughing! We were both trying to act like we were paying attention so we kept responding in a really excited and interested way. So then he thought we were really into the conversation and he got even more excited and was telling us all sorts of things that didn’t even make sense to us. I was still laughing/coughing and trying so hard to be civil! hahaha I don’t even remember what he was talking about but at some point he pointed to a table and said “so technically that table isn’t even a solid!” We DIED! hahaha it was so funny!! I didn’t want him to think we were laughing at him! hahah but he didn’t notice at all. It was hilarious!
Happy Birthday to baby Beckham this week! I can’t believe he is already ONE!!! xoxox
I will email next TUESDAY! Next Monday is Zone Development so we won’t email until the next day.
I am so grateful to be here! Sister Larsen and I are really looking forward to going home and being with our family and finding husbands! But we are so happy to be set apart as full time missionaries doing the Lord’s work in this beautiful country. It is such a sweet pleasure to see Evelyn’s eyes light up when we mention the prophet or discuss the sacrament. It’s a wonderful feeling in our hearts when we ponder the words that come from the Book of Mormon. It is a honor to know our Savior Jesus Christ. My testimony has strengthened immensely and it continues to grow each day. I think I’m finally starting to figure out what this life is really all about. I am so grateful for the plan that our Heavenly Father has for each of us. We need to be obedient to the Lords commandments. He is bound to bless us! (D&C 82:10) Pray for Sister Larsen and I for the ability to find our lost brothers and sisters. We are strengthened by faith. I love you all so very much! I hope you have a good week!
Love Sister Jones
Leave a Reply

