Week 62 Scotland

6 Aug
Dear Family and Friends,
This week was really really great!
Evelyn has a baptismal date! June 28th! It’s the day before moves call. Evelyn is doing exceptionally well! She is still trying to quite smoking but she is getting there! Sister Larsen and I decided to give up sugar! We thought it would be a good idea to give up an addiction with her. I crave chocolate and ice cream almost everyday so it’s hard haha but we’re doing it!
We did another word of wisdom lesson with her to explain the WHY of it all. It was an amazing spiritual experience. We showed her a picture of the temple and discussed how beautiful it is and how well it is kept. So much detail and care goes into building, decorating, cleaning, and consecrating the temple. We are so blessed to have them. It really is the Lord’s house. Heavenly Father cares so much for His temples and what goes on inside of them. We then told Evelyn that she is more important to Heavenly Father than a building. Her body is more sacred and is a greater gift. We told her that she has great worth and that our Father wants us to take care of ourselves while on this earth. We are worth so much more than we think. We are divine beings. We have the capability of being virtuous and healthy. Evelyn was very touched and it all made sense to her. She wants so badly to be baptized so that she may be cleansed from all sin and sorrow. She has such a great determination to be rid of her addiction. I know she can do it! The ward has been very supportive and helpful to her. Evelyn has also been reading the Bible and is really enjoying the New Testament. She LOVES the Book of Mormon and is sad that she is almost done with it but is excited to start again!
The Book of Mormon is so powerful! I love studying form it everyday. This morning I read Alma 39. The chapter about sexual purity. Alma counsels with his son Corianton to be rid of these transgressions. He is so loving towards his son and promises him that sweet peace can come through true repentance.
The gospel has been restored. We have it in beautiful simplicity. We are children of a loving Heavenly Father. He loves us so much. More than we can even comprehend! He wants us to be happy.
I am so grateful for the Book of Mormon. It outlines the Plan that our Father has for us. We have it right in front of us. Eternal life will be ours. That is promised. We must be faithful and worthy of that promise. Every person is important to Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ. They want the very best for us.
Last Tuesday we had our usual district meeting. When we got to the church we noticed a HUGE tent set up! ALL of us went straight for it and decided to have district meeting in there hahaha it was good fun and a GREAT meeting. We had the time to contemplate why we are here serving. It was a good time to reflect on how I feel about my mission.
When we were skyping, Heather asked me a really great question that I didn’t know the answer to. It has been on my mind ever since then and I feel like I finally found the answer. She asked me what was the one thing that has reoccurred throughout my mission that I have learned the most about. 1 Timothy4:12 explains my feelings quite well. Time and time again I have been told, through blessings and leaders, that I am to be an example. I’m still not entirely sure how I am going to fulfill this. Throughout these past 14 months I have thought about my family. I hope that my service will be noticed. I want to work as hard as I can so that I can help and uplift future generations. I hope that one day that my neices, nephews, cousins, and even my own children will serve missions. The work of the Lord is an absolute privilage to be a part of. This world NEEDS the gospel. We would be completely lost without it. I have reflected on this over and over and what keeps coming to mind is “keep going… your thoughts and actions are being recorded in heaven… be thou and example.” I am so grateful for my Savior Jesus Christ. He is the perfect example. I want to be just like Him. I am so grateful that He can take away my imperfections and mistakes. I continually think about Ether 12:27. We all have weaknesses but through Christ, weaknesses can become strong.
Thursday is Zone Interview Training! We get to have interviews with President Brown. I am so excited! I’m sure the training will be excellent as well as it always is.
Zone Development was pretty good. We went to Paisley and it was sports alll day! Sister Larsen are not sporty people so we mostly just sat out and chatted haha. It was so fun to get together with the zone. There are some missionaries in my zone now that were in my previous zones. It is always a pleasure to see them agian. I love missionaries! Most of the Elders got sunburned yesterday! The sun is ferocious here haha
I love you all so very much! I hope you have a great week!!
Love Sister Jones
One Response to “Week 62 Scotland”

  1. Ruth August 7, 2014 at 10:35 pm #

    It is so good to read these again. Thank you for posting! Many prayers and much love!

Leave a Reply

