Week 70 Scotland

6 Aug
Dear Family and Friends,
This week was SO HOT! It got all the way up to 40 degrees! (C not F) I think that’s around 100 or a bit more F. You’d think I’d be used to it because I’m from Vegas but it’s worse here because it’s a bit humid. Sister Larsen and I really struggled with it because we have mostly been out finding. We were sooo grateful for the rain and cool breeze yesterday.
We got in contact with Evelyn! She agreed to meet with us this Thursday. We are really looking forward to seeing her again. Keep praying for her!
We haven’t been able to teach Veronica at all this week because she has been so busy but we have a time set up for this week. Last Tuesday she offered to take us to Troon beach for the day! We were so bummed that we had to deny it haha I don’t think she quite understood why we said no. We’ll have to explain our rules with her some time soon. She is so so sweet and is so good to us.
Sister Larsen and I had to do instruction at District Meeting. It was pretty fun for us to be in charge of it all. Our district leader, E. Butler, gave us the topic of finding by the spirit. It went well and it was a great experience to observe the role plays. I learned a lot from them.
We have been doing a lot of finding. Most of our appointments cancel. We have chapped a good chunk of Killie. We have been having really great conversations with people. It feels so good to proclaim the restored gospel!
Last night while we were chapping, Sis L and I realized how far we have come and how much we have grown since the beginning of our missions. There was a man that was not nice at all… I won’t go into details. He was probably in a horrible mood. Anyway, when we were greenies that kind of situation would have made us cry and we would’ve taken it so personally! hahah but now we just move on and continue being as Christ like as we can. One day that man will listen and thank us for trying to give him the opportunity. I feel so close to the Savior when rejection and opposition comes. In my mind I think “what the heck! I’m a representative of Jesus Christ… why isn’t anyone listening? Why won’t they agree to learning? Why won’t they take the goodness that we are offering them? Why are they mean to us?” Then I humbly remember our Redeemer. Not everyone listened to Him. They didn’t recognize Him as the Christ. He was despised and hated. Yet He reigns high in His glory. I am so grateful for His example. I know He lives. I know that it is only through Him that we can be saved. The Book of Mormon outlines that perfectly. We need to stay strong and fearless as we share the gospel with our brothers and sisters.
Today we are going to Calzean Castle! (It’s pronounced “ka-lane”) It’s just a little passed Ayr. The McAteer family is taking us! I’ll be sure to take lots of pictures! Dave Ruth and the elders are going as well. It’ll be a great day!
I hope you all have a great week! I love you all so much! xoxox
Love Sister Jones
Leave a Reply

