Week 72 Scotland

23 Sep
Dear Family and Friends,
Moves call update! I am staying here in Kilmarnock for my last 6 weeks!!! I am so thrilled! I love it here and am so not ready to say goodbye to it or the people here. My new companion will be Sister Smith! She has been on her mission for about 4 months so she is still pretty new. I haven’t met her yet because she has been in Northern Ireland the whole time. She will come to Kilmarnock on Wednesday! I’m really excited for this next transfer! I know it will go by really quickly and I know it will be filled with miracles and happiness.
Sister Larsen is all packed and ready to go. It has been quit nerve racking for her… and I. We were going to go to Glasgow today but we found out this morning that we have to go tomorrow morning instead. I will get together with Sister Montgomery for Tuesday and Wednesday. She is serving in Ayr and her comp, Sister Kline, is going home with Sister Larsen. Then on Wednesday we will get our new companions! It’ll be a busy/stressful few days. Moves week is always insane haha.
This week was really good. We saw Evelyn! She is doing a lot better and it was so good to see her! We read from the Book of Mormon with her and we could feel the spirit very strongly. We also saw Veronica last night. Sister Larsen told her about the Restoration while I was on the phone getting my moves call! haha they always come at a bit of an awkward time. Veronica is doing really well. She is such a kind woman! She gave us a bit of a snack and we had a really good talk about the Book of Mormon. She said “there’s a phrase that comes up a whole lot…” then I said “And it came to pass??” then she goes “yes! If anything else comes to pass I don’t know if I’ll be able to keep up!” hahaha it was so funny! Sciprute language is hard to get used to.
Sister Larsen said all of her goodbyes throughout the week and yesterday at church. It was bitter sweet and everyone was sad to see her go. But I know they will welcome Sister Smith with open arms!
We went to a wedding!!! Bishop King’s daughter, Heather, got married on Saturday. I don’t know if I ever told you this or not but here in Bitain members of the church have to get married in the church before they go down to the temple to get sealed. So Heather and Adam got married at the church and the ceremony was so wonderful! They were so happy and Sister Larsen and I totally cried! haha I LOVE weddings! I also saw the McNally family from East Kilbride there! It was so good to see them again! It’s been just over a year since the last time I saw them. They were shocked when I told them I only have 6 weeks left. Time flies so it does.
The rain is worse than ever! It has been really bucketing the past few days so everything is always soaked. It’s not cold uet though so it’s ok. Just wet.
So many changes! It can be a bit hard to make the adjustments but we’re used to it. Missionaries learn to move quickly at the last minute when needed. I know it trains us to be more receptive to the Lord’s will for the rest of our lives.
I am so grateful for all that I have been to experience so far on my mission. It has been a real joy.
I hope everyone has a good week!! I love you all so much!
Love Sister Jones
Leave a Reply

