Week 75 Scotland

23 Sep
Dear Family and Friends,
This week was really great! Nothing new unfortunately.
Thursday was Zone Interview Training. It was so good to see President Brown and have time to sit down with him and just talk. After me interview he said “I’ll see you in a few weeks!… AH!” hahaha
Our training was on a few things. The sister training leaders trained on allowing the Holy Ghost to work through us. We really cannot do missionary work without him!
The APs helped us practice talking with people about the Restoration and referring to it quickly so that everyone can know what sets us apart from other faiths.
It was a really good meeting! We have Zone Conference tomorrow! Can’t wait.
Last night we had a really good lesson with the Miligans. They are such a kind couple. We’ve been visiting them for quite sometime now. They are members that haven’t been out to church in a while. Sister Miligan made gorgeous chocolate cake that only took us a total of two minutes to eat. Then we watched Finding Faith in Christ with them. I love that film because it really portrays Christ life so beautifully. It helps me understand who He is and what He has done for all of us. I know it really made the Miligans think. They both have such a strong testimony of the gospel. They just need to exercise their faith a little bit. After we watched the film it didn’t take very long to start talking about the church. Sister Smith and I didn’t need to say much. The spirit was very strong and they both pondered pretty hard. Their countenances lighted up as they discussed coming to church. Jesus Christ provides a way for everyone to follow Him.
The other night Sister Smith let me cut her hair! I used her REAL purple cheetah print shears and talked me through a proper hair cut haha it was good fun.
Funny story. We had dinner with the Matthews family (the American family that just moved into the ward) and afterwords we were helping with the dishes. We started talking about some differences between America and the UK (because they are just getting used to it all) I brought up how in America you can put stuff down the drain and it sucks it up and gets rid of it. Sinks aren’t like that here. So I said “what is it called?? I can’t remember… is it the dispenser?” Then Sister Matthews said “no it’s the dishwasher disposal” then Sister Smith and I said “no that doesn’t sound right” We couldn’t figure it out! I TOTALLY forgot! So then when we left we were walking to the church and Sis Smith and I were still trying to figure it out. Then Sis Smith got it! GARBAGE DISPOSAL!!! hahahaha We had totally and completely forgotten! I died laughing! This probably seems really daft to you all but it was a big deal! We don’t use the word “garbage” so that’s probably why we forgot about it so easily. The Matthews also have a dishwasher but I haven’t used one in a year and a half so I kinda forgot how to use it… like I didn’t know where to put everything. It was a disaster! And now I know that the family will be making fun of me loads right when I get home because I am just not used to anything American anymore hahaha!
Sister Smith got sick again! But not for as long this time. We took a wee trip to the Doctor on Friday. She got some medicine and is doing lots better! She had to give some blood so I was moral support. She almost squeezed my hand off! hahaha but she did great.
This is an excerpt from my mission President’s email this week that I want to share with you!
“I want to share with you a brief insight which came to me this past week. I read the 24th verse of Alma 13 “For behold, angels are declaring it unto many at this time in our land; and this is for the purpose of preparing the hearts of the children of men to receive his word at the time of his coming in his glory.” And in verse 16 of chapter 16 “the Lord did pour out his Spirit on all the face of the land to prepare the minds of the children of men, or to prepare their hearts to receive the word which would be taught among them at the time of his coming.” In D&C 29:7 “ye are called to bring to pass the gathering of mine elect; for mine elect hear my voice and harden not their hearts;” We learn elsewhere that the “elect” are few in number and as I considered our work I came to the conclusion that perhaps we have a dual role; first – find those who are the elect and will receive the word now and secondly we are part of that angelic force which prepares the hearts of the children of men to receive the word at the time of His coming. This gave me comfort and hope that those who may be taught just one or two lessons and then stop learning, or even just have a brief conversation on the street or doorstep, are some of those whose hearts are nevertheless being prepared to receive the word at the time of His coming. As we learn in PMG, “no effort is wasted”, and I most firmly believe that to be true! Till the work is done!” -President Brown
Missionary work is the best! I love everything about it!
I really can’t believe that I will be home so soon. Time has really flown by.
I love you all so so much!
Love Sister Jones
Leave a Reply

